Sitting down bogged down by the daily events since COVID started in Kenya, I think about how much life has really changed.

No parties, no meetings unless virtual, no movement and holidays out of the region, no bars opening. I mean as a millennial it’s the end of the world for sure.

Then I started thinking, how bad of company am I to myself that even sitting in the house alone makes me go crazy? Am I that reliant on my friends? Who are my real friends? When was last time any of my so-called buddies called to check on me? Am I a good friend to my friends?

No, I am not a good friend, I rarely check-in on people and no my friends are not good either.. Okay, not all but most. It was time to reflect. Time to sit down and re-evaluate my relationship with people.

I am not the type to dumb down the negative effects of toxic relations at the expense of my sanity. That’s how my weekend took shape. Armed with a book, a packed bag, a bottle of gin and some tonic I literally took a hike to a place I could call heaven.

The beauty of the hills covered in shrubs, the lizards crawling about, the birds singing and fleeting around thickets. The brown rawness of nature took me so off-guard that I set a tear at the peace and tranquillity around me.

My random getaway was much needed. The breeze cut cut across my skin causing hills of goosebumps but I didn’t want to cover-up at all. I wanted the rawness of this experience and not a thing more.

In the horizon the beautiful golden sunset was setting in creating such a scene that if painted I would touch and stroke it just to try and have a feel of how beauty feels.

I was vulnerable with nature and in turn nature was vulnerable to me. I could feel the faint rays of the sun at sunset seep in to the veins warming my blood and encouraging me to let go of the burdens of societal expectations.

Nothing could compare to the experience and as I laid on the bed that evening I knew my renewal was imminent. It would happen at dawn as I watched the rise of a golden sphere illuminating the earth with so much vigour that nothing would dim it’s shine.

To whom much is given much is expected. My needs were many , my hunger gnawing , my thirst unquenched, my peace needy and my resolve was still hanging on a thread. I needed release.

Leave a comment