Unexpected news

Just recently, I was in the office going about the usual work and telling my colleague how this year has been quite the test. You see Nyina wa Kirenge passed on last year and a year and a month later Ithe wa Kirenge followed. When you lose your loved ones you think that life will give you a break and a time to regain your breath.

It was a chilly mid morning in Nairobi after a wet night. In my hound’s-tooth black and white long pants, black top and black boots handed down from my sister’s closet. I called the lab and the results were out. You see, momma had been unwell and the new doctor sent us to get a few tests done. Ths was the third tme he had sent us for further tests and we had started to think he doesnt really knnow what he is looking for. Dr. Google had also not been helpful because all her symtoms gave so many ailment options.

”Send me the reports and like a 2 year old, explain to me the conclusion” I told the lab guy. He hesitated and said, “we have emailed Daktari the results . Just head there and have atleast 3 family members with the patient. I will also forward you the report shortly”. I was not having it and insisted he tells me this conclusion that needs many people to be at the doctors clinic.

“If you insist.Your mother has a metastatic disease that is affecting her liver, lungs and bones. The biopsy we took shows it is adenocarcinoma and you need further tests to get the source of the cancer and start treatment ASAP. ” My world stopped. ” Thank you”, I said. He hung up and a few seconds after, the email came.

I did not cry, I was numb for 30 minutes and then stood to go to the washroom where I broke down. I couldn’t breathe. The harder part was to tell mom, dad and my sister that we need to go to the doctors to get an explanation of the test results that I already knew. Interestingly, they were available and we would meet there. I had to be strong for them all.

Numbness took over and I had to step up, Become everyone’s support system and retreat to my emotions when I got to bed. My smile had to come in handy when everyone was gloomy. When friends and family knew of the diagnosis, they came to say pole(Get well soon wishes). I hosted them with a smile because even in the unexpected news, I believe in miracles, I am hopeful more than everyone that she will be healed and we will testify.

Leave a comment